Tags

,

Last night my husband and I went to the movie Singing in the Rain at the theater.  It was a special showing hosted by Turner Classic Movies.  I absolutely love that movie!  Granted, we own the DVD of it and could have easily spent a lot less money and effort by just watching it at home.  However, it was so much fun to enjoy it with a theater full of people who like it just as much as we do.  Plus, there was a nice little documentary introduction with Robert Osborne–I love him!–and Debbie Reynolds.  And even one more bonus: date night for hubby and me!  I got dressed up and put on makeup and high heels.  It felt good.

As I watched the movie, I was trying to decide which dance number I liked the best.  They are all so good–both the music and the dancing.  I thought I really couldn’t choose.  But if you pinned me down to only being able to pick just one, I would have to go with “Moses Supposes.”  “Moses supposes his toeses are roses, but Moses supposes erroneously…”  It absolutely amazes me every time.  Gene Kelly and Donald O’Connor are such awesome dancers, the tune is catchy, and tap is my favorite kind of dancing. “Singing in the Rain,” “Good Morning,” and “You Were Meant for Me” would be close behind, though.  The one I could never get was the Broadway sequence.  You know the one that doesn’t fit in with the rest of the movie?  Yeah, that one.  For years it irritated me.  It seemed so long and took us away from the story line.  But finally in recent years I get it.  Not only do I get it, I enjoy it!  Amazing how time changes things.  Now I can see that it’s full of beautiful dancing by really talented people.  And it’s a story in itself–I never realized that before.

Not only do I love the movie for itself, I also have such good memories associated with it.  My family watched it quite a bit when we were younger, and we went to a live theater version of it when I was a teenager.  I remember it actually rained on the stage!  That was fun. 🙂  I watched it at college with my dorm-mates in the common room.  My husband and I watched it together when we were first dating. (I asked him last night if he had ever seen it before he met me.  He said he remembered parts of it, but not seeing the entire movie.  Now he loves it too!)  I also watched it with my godson when he was about two.  He laughed so hard during Donald O’Connor’s “Make ‘Em Laugh” performance–he has the sweetest laugh.  Now I can’t wait to share it with my own little one.  I hope she will enjoy it too.

I just love classic movies.  They’ve been a huge part of my life.  My favorite channel is TCM and  I’ve missed it terribly this summer.  (We decided to go TV free for the summer.)  I am especially sad to be missing their annual Summer Under the Stars, which they do every August.  Each day is dedicated to a particular movie star, and they play that person’s films for 24 hours.  It’s awesome.  And they don’t even have to pay me for saying that!  We went to a showing of Casablanca last spring, which was just as much fun as seeing Singing in the Rain last night.  I know they are doing more special events like this in the upcoming months.  But for now, I’m still basking in the happiness of last night’s film.

