Tags

, ,

Moving is stressful.  For me it is both stressful and unpleasant.  Especially because I hadn’t planned on moving and don’t even want to move.  But, I find myself in a situation where I have to move.  So that’s that.

I’ve been tearing the house apart in my efforts to get things ready to go.  And, of course, there’s all the “treasures” that I find I have kept over the years, unable to part with any of it.  The inevitable clutter.  Makes me want to throw everything away, including the furniture.  The amount of paperwork I keep is unbelievable to me.  For instance, why do I have memos from a boss that I no longer work with, about a job I no longer have, telling me questions that I need answers for that are no longer important?   Or a postcard written in 2005 from a person I am no longer friends with?  Or every single cell phone bill I have ever received dating back to 2003–in no particular order?  Or a tiny slip of paper scribbled with the names and ages of each member of ‘NSync? (I don’t even remember writing that one.  But it’s in my handwriting!)  Naturally, none of this is in the least bit organized.

I firmly believe everything happens for a reason so I’m going to try to make the best of it.  And in the midst of all this mess, I need something to help me keep at least somewhat calm and to ease the transition between two homes.  I’ve decided to make a “comfort box.”  In it, I’m going to include things to make the new place more homey; hopefully give it a more lived-in feel.  I hate feeling out of place, especially in my own place!  And comfort at home is a priority for me.  (Gosh, who could have guessed that?)

Right now, I’m thinking of including the following: a candle (what’s homier than a candle?); a cozy clean blanket to throw on the couch the first night we are there; a package of pre-made, refrigerated chocolate chip cookies that I can throw into the oven without any effort; toothbrushes and toothpaste so that we don’t have to hunt around for them.

I’m still coming up with more ideas, as we don’t actually have to move until the weekend.  If you have any suggestions, please share! I’d love to add a couple more things that will help us relax on our first night in a new place.  I think my “comfort box” will be one little thing I can do to help smooth a stressful time.

