Tags

, ,

Yesterday we decorated for autumn.  Nothing over the top or anything–just a few things to celebrate the upcoming change of season.  Actually, I think the season has already changed because temperatures have been dropping and we are already wearing sweatshirts and jackets.

Autumn is my favorite time of the year to decorate.  I don’t have as many decorations for fall as I do for Christmas, but I like them better.  I am keeping the Halloween decorations for next month and sticking only to a “fall theme” for now: leaves, pumpkins, and apples.

Strawberry helped me put up the window clings in her room and on the sliding glass door.  They are very artistically placed…and by artistically I mean however her instincts guided her to put them up.  Which is not exactly how I would have put them up, but she had fun.  (I later found her in her room removing each little gel leaf from her window.  So we ended up decorating her window twice.)

In addition to the window clings, I also bought a pumpkin welcome sign for the front door and one of those small flags for the yard.  In our last home, there wasn’t really a place for a flag outside–it was a common area.  But here, we have a spot right outside the door.  I’m really excited about it.  I guess that’s something I can add to my list of things I love about this place. 🙂   I also brought out a pumpkin magnet that I love and a framed painting that was given to me by a dear friend for my birthday one year.  The painting is of a tree losing its leaves in the autumn wind and the colors go perfectly with the rest of my collection.   Other items include a basket, some small ramekins, and mini ceramic loaf pans that were all given to me by my mom, who is awesome at finding seasonal accessories.  I haven’t yet decided what to put into these, but I like them so I’ll find something.

I love the changing seasons, so I’m glad autumn is here.  Even if it means that cold weather is approaching.  (I hate cold weather.)  But I love fall.  I need to sit down and make my formal “Fall Bucket List, ” which usually includes apple picking and subsequently making apple pies and other desserts; pumpkin picking; and preparing for Halloween.  I have some Halloween traditions that I look forward to which will be in another post.  We’ve already done the apple picking and I’ve tried out some apple recipes (thanks to my current subscription of Food Network Magazine which had an entire insert on ideas for apples), but I still need to make a pie and turnovers.  Strawberry has been eating apples like mad, so I have to hurry before they are all gone.  We picked twenty pounds–you’d think that would be enough!

And if all this isn’t enough, I found some cute fall craft ideas for Strawberry at the Dollar Spot in Target.  I’m not much of a craft enthusiast, but I thought she might enjoy doing something new so I’m willing to try it.

I’m looking forward to enjoying the autumn days!

