I love baseball.  I’m so glad it’s baseball season again!  I’m not someone who pays attention to all the stats, or watches every game, or knows all the rules.  However, it is my favorite sport.  I love that it’s a part of American history that continues to be a favorite past time today.

You can always tell if it is a baseball game on the radio (or tv, even if you can’t see it.)  The quiet murmur of the crowd in the background, the periods of silence in between the announcers’ commentary.  The game is slow paced enough that you don’t have to be looking at it every second, but it has enough exciting parts to keep it interesting.  It has a quiet consistency that I like.  (In fact, the White Sox opening day game is on our tv as I write this.)  Baseball means slow summer days and nights and happy moments to me.

I’ve always been a Chicago White Sox fan.  We used to get White Sox tickets from our school when I would get A’s on my report card.  I remember going to ball games at old Comisky Park when I was younger, and now we go at least once a year to U.S. Cellular Field (otherwise known as “The Cell”) to watch a game.  It’s usually a game when the New York Yankees are in town because Elderberry is a Yanks fan.  (Which is not a very popular position around these parts, but he doesn’t care.  I like the Yankees myself and will root for them–but only if they aren’t playing the Sox :).)  Anyway, we’ve made it a tradition to go every year to a White Sox/Yankees game for as long as we’ve been married.  Maybe one year we will go to New York for it; but so far we’ve only gone to Chicago games.  Surprisingly, there are a good number of Yankee’s fans at Chicago games anyway, so Elderberry doesn’t really feel alone as he roots for his team against the home team.  And he roots for the Sox as long as they aren’t playing the Yankees. 🙂

I like that we can root for each other’s team.  I don’t like it when someone is so anti-the-rival-team.  I think it’s bad sportsmanship and not being a gracious winner or loser.  I know that not everyone agrees with my point of view, but that’s the way I see it.  I don’t even hate the Cubs. I’m not a fan of their’s and I won’t pay to go to one of their games or actually root for them.  However, I don’t root against them.

Some baseball-themed media that I’ve enjoyed besides actual games:

Baseballa documentary by Ken Burns that plays on PBS.  I haven’t seen the whole thing, as it is over 18 hours long, but have enjoyed a good part of it.

Wait Till Next Year: A Memoir by Doris Kearns Goodwin.  I read this a long time ago, but still remember it.  That’s how good it was.  I like Doris Kearns Goodwin anyway and have enjoyed other books of her’s as well.

Baseball is such a classic game, enjoyed by so many fans for so many years and I’m glad I’m a fan of this American tradition.

