Tags

, ,

We bought the very first board books for our kids when I was pregnant with Strawberry.  And I read them to her in utero.  That’s how excited I was about reading.  I guess I still am because our collection of board books has grown considerably since then.  Many of our board books are ones that were not originally published as board books, but are available in that format now.  I love having sturdier versions so that they can hold up for a longer time.  Some of our most loved books have the corners chewed off them.  I read Dr. Seuss’ ABC An Amazing Alphabet Book so many times to Strawberry that it is falling apart.  (I am pretty sure some of the corners are chewed off too.)

My Faves Board Books

 

 

My top picks:

Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown.  My all-time favorite.  This one never gets old for me–or the kids either!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle.  A classic.

Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathman.  This one is charming.  And with almost no words.

The Going to Bed Book by Sandra Boynton.  I was so happy to receive this book as a gift for Strawberry when she was a newborn.  I would have never known about it otherwise.  My favorite Boynton book, although so many of them are awesome.

Orange Pear Apple Bear by Emily Gravett.  Creative use of words and pictures.

Jamberry by Bruce Degan.  The words just roll off the tongue.  Delightful.

Time for Bed by Mem Fox.  Perfect before bed.

Big Red Barn by Margaret Wise Brown.  Apparently I have a thing for this author!

 

I couldn't find Brown Bear...we have books everywhere

I couldn’t find Brown Bear…

Strawberry’s favorites when she was little:

ABC An Amazing Alphabet Book by Dr. Seuss.  As noted above.

Moo Baa La La La by Sandra Boynton.  We would start the sentences, she would finish them.  It was so cute, especially the “la la la!”

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See by Eric Carle.  We would make animal noises as we went through and also ask her to identify animals, which was fun.

Others that she especially liked are on the above list: Goodnight Moon, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, and The Going to Bed Book.

Blueberry's Faves Board Books

Blueberry’s favorites:

Hello, Animals by Smriti Prasadam. This was a giveaway at the library when he was newborn.  It was especially good for him then as it is (mostly) black and white and he liked to look at the contrast.  He still does.

Bright Baby Touch and Feel by Roger Priddy.  This is a set of four books (On the Farm, Baby Animals, At the Zoo, Perfect Pets) all about different animals with textures to touch.  He loves them!

Bright Baby by Roger Priddy.  Also a set of four (Colors, Trucks, First Words, Animals).  He can’t get enough of these.  These and the Touch and Feel ones are his go-to books.

 

Board books get so much use around here.  I often come upon Blueberry flipping through the pages looking at pictures.  So easy for small hands to manage.  A tactile way to instill a love of reading in even the youngest of children.

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

