Tags

, ,

Fall has arrived and I’ve started drinking hot tea again.  Sweatshirts and sweaters have been pulled out of the closets and there’s chili regularly on the stove again.  Welcome, October!

I like to try to match some of our reading to the seasons, although I’m not as diligent about it as I would like.  My ideal is to put seasonal books away and then pull them out at the appropriate time.  I hate reading Christmas stories in April.  But so far I haven’t followed through on that plan…

That said, we do have a couple books we like to read in the fall.

Duck and Goose Find a Pumpkin by Tad Hills.  This one tops the list.  It was our first exposure to Duck and Goose, and the others are cute too.  But this one is the best.  It’s a board book and simple, so it’s good for babies on up.  My four year old still enjoys it.

Bear Feels Sick by Karma Wilson.  We like the whole series of Bear books.  This one is set in autumn and it’s so common (get it??:) ) to get a cold after summer’s end that it’s particularly appropriate.

The Busy Little Squirrel by Nancy Tafuri.  We’ve read this over and over again.  Strawberry like to finish the sentence on every other page, “He was so busy!”

Leaves by David Ezra Stein.  A bear experiences his first autumn.

Pumpkin Soup by Helen Cooper.  A tale of three friends and each unique contribution they make to their meal and home life.  This one is a bit longer than the others noted above.

A Very Brave Witch by Alison McGhee.  This one is not my favorite.  But Strawberry requests it quite a bit, so I thought it deserved an honorable mention.  About a young girl witch who is not afraid of humans.

It’s time to get cozy and cuddle up with a few seasonal selections!  And maybe enjoy a cup of hot tea at the same time.

 This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

