Tags

,

Like ABC books, there are tons of counting books to use to introduce or reinforce number recognition and sequence when you are reading.  A couple I have already mentioned this month under other topics, but they come under this heading too.  Counting with kids starts as early as nursery rhymes– “One, two, buckle my shoe…”  Some counting books in our home collection include:

Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed by Eileen Christelow.  Always a fun rhyme to recite.

Ten Little Ladybugs by Melanie Gerth.  I should have put this one under Strawberry’s favorite board books.  I’m surprised I forgot it.  Although, technically it’s not a board book, so maybe nevermind.  But she loved this one when she was little.  The ladybugs are all raised up, so it’s nice to touch while reading.

Ten Wriggly Wiggly Caterpillars by Debbie Tarbett.  The same concept as the ladybug one, but this time it’s caterpillars.  There’s one about penguins too, but I can’t find it at home or online…

Ten Tiny Tickles by Karen Katz.  I mentioned this one on the day I talked about Karen Katz.  But it doubles as a counting book.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle.  I know, I talked about this one before also.  But it’s a bit of a counting book too, woven in with the story.  We like it so much that I have to mention it again.  (And prepare yourself. You may hear about it again later in the month.  Because that’s how beloved this book is around here.  And it’s versatile enough to fit in multiple subjects!)

1 2 3 Chicago: A Cool Counting Book by Puck.  This one was a gift for Blueberry, and it’s so simple but really delightful.  It highlights Chicago landmarks and numbers them.  I really like the concept.  Of course, it means something to us personally because we are local.  But I just did an Amazon search on “cool counting books” and they have them for other cities too.

And a few we got from the library:

One Was Johnny by Maurice Sendak.  Humorous. 🙂

1, 2, 3 to the Zoo by Eric Carle.  I like how this one builds the train as you count the animals.  And it’s a rare Eric Carle book that I don’t like!

1-2-3 Peas by Keith Baker.  The same author as LMNO Peas that I talked about in the ABC post.  I liked LMNO Peas better, but this one was good too.  (I see that he also has one entitled Little Green Peas: A Big Book of Colors.  I’ll have to check that one out.)

Happy counting!

Any counting books that you especially enjoy?

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

