Tags

,

Interactive books are popular with kids.  I mean, look at Pat the Bunny.  How long has that one been around?  (I’ll tell you how long–74 years.)  And it’s still in print and still well-loved–although I have to say, I don’t love the smell of those flowers.  Is anyone with me on that?  Anyone…?  I talked about the touch-and-feel board books that Blueberry enjoys.  And then there’s Tails by Matthew Van Fleet, which my kids can’t wait to get their little hands on every time we pull it out.

But sometimes there are books that go beyond just the touch-and-feel variety.  We have two that come to mind immediately:

The Jolly Postman or Other People’s Letters by Janet and Allan Ahlberg.  I’ve loved this one since I was a kid–although the book belonged to my sister.  (It still does, but she has generously let us keep it in our home to enjoy for the time being.)  So much fun to take out the letters and read what kind of correspondence is going on between those beloved fairy tale characters.  Every child I know is entranced by this book.

Mask Parade: Forest Animals by Stephanie Trelogan and Katharine Armstrong.  This one has masks that pop out from the page for the reader to try on and look in the mirrors (which the book provides) to see what kind of animal you are.  For each animal it says “who am I?” and then you can pull out the mask and see.

I’m sure there are lots more creative novelty books out there.  These are the two that we happened upon.

What novelty books are popular in your home?

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

