Tags

, , ,

Every time I decide to do a blog post on an author we like, I find that they have written so many more books than I thought and there are plenty that I haven’t read yet!  I’m undecided whether to be excited about this because here’s a whole bunch of new books to check out (Yay!) or sad about it because here I am “spotlighting” an author we enjoy and I’m woefully ignorant of so much of their work.  I guess I’ll go with both.  But the point of talking about different authors is to spread the word about their books, so even if we’ve only read a few, oh well.

Moving on…

We were introduced to Lucy Cousins’ books during baby story time with Strawberry.  Along with songs and nursery rhymes, the librarian read Hooray for Fish.  I ended up getting it out of the library a few times because I liked it so much and by the time Blueberry came on the scene, I decided it should probably just be a permanent fixture in our home.  We often quote the line at the end: “Kiss, kiss, kiss, hooray for fish!”

In addition to Hooray for Fish, the Maisy books are an ever-popular choice around here.  We have Maisy Cleans Up; Maisy Takes a Bath; Maisy Goes Camping (Strawberry’s #1 choice for Maisy); Maisy Dresses Up; and  Maisy’s Bedtime.  We’ve also checked out several Maisy books from the library.  Maisy sure is a busy little mouse!

Cousins has a simple style in both words and illustrations, which seems to really captivate her audience.  At least my kids love it.  And now that I know she has even more books that we haven’t experienced yet…you know what’s going to be in my library bag this week!

Any Lucy Cousins books you especially enjoy?

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

