Tags

, ,

I’ve been trying to get the kids to listen to more audio books.  In fact, I’ve been trying to do the same myself.  I think it’s a good way to experience books through a different medium.  Another way to enjoy a good book!  Whenever possible, I get the book with the CD at the library when the book is on my list anyway.  Here are some that we have enjoyed:

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury.  This was by far our favorite.  And it has other activities at the end of the CD for the kids to participate in.  Strawberry even requested it specifically from the library so we had to make a quick stop to pick it up.  (I want to encourage spontaneous library visits.)  We also found a video on You Tube which she loves.

Caps For Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina.  Those silly monkeys!

Nana Upstairs and Nana Downstairs by Tomie dePaola.  This is such a sweet story, but please know that the subject is how a little boy deals with his great-grandmother’s and grandmother’s deaths.  It is well done, but I wasn’t expecting it the first time we listened.

This Jazz Man by Karen Ehrhardt.  I’m partial to jazz music, but I loved how they incorporated the music in with the words and tied it to real-life artists.

A friend of mine told me she just looks up children’s books on You Tube.  I thought that was such a good idea!  And I hear about Jim Weiss recordings all the time. So many people recommend him.  Apparently he’s a fantastic narrator.  I need to get some of those to listen too.  One more wonderful thing to add to my list!

What audio books do you listen to?

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature. To read all the posts, click here.

 

