Tags

,

(Oops, this post is going up just a little too late.  Which just goes to show me that I should not lay down with the kids to get them to sleep and not expect to doze off myself.  But I’ve dragged myself out of bed just to get this done…)

Earlier in the month, I asked my Facebook friends what their most favorite (yes, “most favorite.”  I know…) children’s books are/were.  I thought it would be fun to have some variety in the book suggestions of this series, instead of them all being from me.  Happily, I received some great answers.  Many of them I had never heard of, so (guess what??)–more books to add to my “to read” list!

Here are the recommendations I received:

M’s picks: Someday by Alison McGhee and the Thomas the Train books.  I haven’t heard of Someday, but it looks like a sweet book!  And we have another Alison McGhee book that I’ve already talked about, so I’m sure this book will be well-received by my kids.

M’s picks: Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel; Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs by Judi Barrett and Ron Barrett; the Little Bear books by Else Holmelund Minarik; the Narnia series by C.S. Lewis; and the Mysterious Benedict Society books.  Frog and Toad was one of the first books Elderberry selected when we were starting our children’s home library.  It was always a favorite of his.  The Little Bear books are new to me, but appear to have been around for a while.  They look like something that would be right up my alley!  We will be giving them a try.

L’s picks: If You Give a Mouse a Cookie;  If You Give a Pig a Pancake; If You Give a Moose a Muffin and all the other If You Give a… books, all by Laura Numeroff; and the Dick and Jane series.  All three Laura Numeroff books listed here are well-loved at our house too!  And I remember Dick and Jane from my childhood.  🙂

T’s pick: The Monster at the End of This Book by Jon Stone.  I have never heard of this book!  And it was listed twice on my Facebook feed (see below).  Based on this, and the stellar reviews on Amazon, I think this one will be in our next library haul.

H’s picks: The Monster at the End of this Book (again!); The Peculiar Miss Pickett by Nancy Julian; and Mr. Pudgins by Ruth Chistoffer Carlsen.  These selections were all new to me.  More to add to my list!

Isn’t it so fun to see what other people pick?  You can connect over shared favorites and exchange suggestions for great new finds!

Many thanks to my friends who shared their “book loves” with me!

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature. To read all the posts, click here.

 

