Tags

, ,

It’s awesome when you discover a good book with fantastic characters.  It’s spectacular when you discover that there are even more books to read about the same characters!  Then you start to get familiar with their personalities and quirks, and then you start to feel like they are your friends, and pretty soon you start to know what they are going to say because at this point you feel like they are part of your family and they’ve just moved right in with you.  No?  Just me?  Ok…

Some of these following books I read when I was a child and enjoyed them immensely.  Some I have found more recently and am thrilled with the discovery.  So, some old friends, some new friends.  Both are welcome in my home!

The Frances books by Russell Hoban: Bedtime for Frances; Bread and Jam for Frances; A Baby Sister for Frances.  Frances the badger is so funny!  Humorous to read.

The Berenstain Bears by Stan and Jan Berenstain.  I loved these as a kid.  We had tons of them.  I especially remember the ones about the messy room, the stranger one, the visit to their grandparents’ house, the junk food one.  So many good options.

Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish.  Amelia Bedelia; Thank You, Amelia Bedelia; Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia; Amelia Bedelia Helps Out.  Amelia Bedelia is hilarious.  I enjoyed these when I was younger but I haven’t introduced her yet to Strawberry.  But I can’t wait to do so!

The Olivia books by Ian Falconer.  Olivia; Olivia Goes to Venice.  Strawberry loves Olivia.  One year she was Olivia for Halloween.  She still plays dress up in that costume.

The Madeline books by Ludwig Bemelmans.  Madeline; Madeline in London; Madeline and the Gypsies.  Madeline never gets old for us.  We even have a Madeline puzzle and an activity where you can change Madeline’s outfit.

The Clifford books by Norman Bridwell.  Clifford, The Big Red Dog; Clifford Gets a Job; Clifford’s Tricks; Clifford’s Good Deeds.  The iconic dog with a signature color.  We have a collection of five books bound together that’s really nice.

The Bear books by Karma Wilson.  Bear Feels Sick; Bear Says Thanks; Bear Snores On; Bear Feels Scared.  One of my favorite new finds.  I think I like these books more than Strawberry does.  But she likes them as well.  And Blueberry too.  We can’t get enough of these ones!

What are your favorite picture books that come in a series?

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

