Tags

, ,

We have a couple birthday themed books at home that we like and way more than a couple to choose from if you look on Amazon.  I came across birthday books from some of my favorite authors: Happy Birthday, Little Pookie by Sandra Boynton and Where is Baby’s Birthday Cake? by Karen Katz.  I remember reading A Birthday for Frances by Russell Hoban when I was young as well as The Berenstain Bears and Too Much Birthday.  I think I mentioned Eric Carle’s The Secret Birthday Message.  Did you know there was a Mr. Birthday and a Little Miss Birthday in the Little Miss and Mr. Men series?

It’s My Birthday by Helen Oxenbury looks wonderful.  I haven’t read it, but we love the illustrations in We’re Going on a Bear Hunt.  The birthday one looks charming and sweet.

At home, we have Dr. Seuss’ Happy Birthday to You.  I like almost all Dr. Seuss books, and this one is no exception.  Full of classic Dr. Seuss lyrics, it’s so fun to read.

Lastly, there is a cute one called Happy Birthday, Hamster.  It tells about Hamster and how he is excited for his birthday, but everyone seems to have forgotten about it.  Dog comes to take him on a shopping expedition, but it’s all about what Dog needs, not what Hamster wants.  However, in the background you can see that Hamster’s friends are planning a surprise and getting everything that Hamster really does want.  Of course, there’s a surprise party at the end.  Personally, surprise parties are not my favorite.  But Hamster seems to enjoy it.  Come to think of it, I think there was a book about Miss Spider’s surprise birthday party too.  Must be a popular theme.  (Sure enough–it’s called Miss Spider’s ABC and it’s about her friends throwing her a surprise party.  We have this book too.  I should have listed it under my ABC’s post!)

What are your favorite birthday books for kids?

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature. To read all the posts, click here.

