Tags

, , ,

I know I’ve been focusing on literature for young children, but there are just so many good chapter books that I can’t resist including a list of the ones I loved reading when I was younger.  And while I am enjoying the picture book stage at this point with my littles, I do look forward to the day when I can share these books with them as well.

  1. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  2. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  3. The Four-Story Mistake (and others in this series) by Elizabeth Enright
  4. Understood Betsy by Dorothy Canfield Fisher
  5. The Moffats by Eleanor Estes
  6. Mrs. Piggle Wiggle (and others in the series) by Betty MacDonald
  7. Homer Price by Robert McCloskey
  8. The Cricket in Times Square by George Selden
  9. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  10. Stuart Little by E.B. White
  11. The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White
  12. Little House in the Big Woods (and all the others in this series) by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  13. Henry Huggins (and all the Henry books) by Beverly Cleary
  14. Beezus and Ramona (and all the Ramona books) by Beverly Cleary
  15. Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
  16. From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
  17. Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren
  18. Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
  19. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
  20. The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks
  21. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle
  22. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (and the whole Narnia series) by C.S. Lewis
  23. The Borrowers by Mary Norton
  24. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
  25. Anne of Green Gables (and all the Anne books) by L. M. Montgomery.  I saved the best for last! 🙂

Oh, and also a special mention of the Nancy Drew series–the original ones.  I tore through those books!  I used to get stacks out of the library so tall and read every single one of them.  Hours and hours of reading.  It was great!

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

