Tags

, , ,

Today we went to see The Sound of Music at a local children’s theater.  The play was performed by kids ages 8-18, and it was mostly kids in the audience.  I thought the performers did a wonderful job, and my own two littles were entranced by the singing and dancing.  (I tried to get Strawberry to choose Maria von Trapp as her Halloween costume this year after seeing the idea here.  For a while, I thought she was going to go with it…  Check back tomorrow to see what she actually picked.)  We, of course, also love the movie which was loosely based on a book (The Story of the Trapp Family Singers).  All of this led me to think of a suggestion I received recently to write a post on movies that have been based on kid’s books.

Around here we mostly stick to animations.  I’m trying to branch out, but have met with resistance.  I have always enjoyed Disney movies, though, so I don’t protest too much when one of these is playing:

  • Pinocchio
  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Peter Pan
  • 101 Dalmations (I didn’t even know this was a book first until I saw it on Wikipedia!)
  • The Jungle Book
  • Robin Hood

I’m not going to lump Mary Poppins into the above group because I think it really deserves to stand on it’s own.  That one is a classic!

While maybe not technically a “movie,” I think the made-for-tv Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea definitely count as books turned into movies.  My sister and I loved these when we were kids!  And we also used to listen to the audio books read by Megan Follows, the actress who played Anne in them.

And what about Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory?  Loved that one growing up!  I think it’s still popular.  Plus, I love that one song at the end so much that I downloaded it onto my iPod. 🙂

Ever read Freaky Friday?  That one was awesome!  And the movie with Jodie Foster was pretty funny too.  I’m not a big fan of movies from the ’70’s, but I’d watch that one again.

Charlotte’s Web was another one I liked–actually there are two I like.  The first one was an animated film that we used to watch as kids.  But I saw the more recent one with Dakota Fanning and that one was good too.  Added plus that Strawberry liked it!

As a fan of classic movies, there are quite a few that I have enjoyed through the years.  Shirley Temple was in a version of The Little Princess as well as Heidi.  Her movies are good for kids young and old. 🙂

And Little Women with Katherine Hepburn was one of my favorites.  The one with Elizabeth Taylor was ok, but I don’t like that one as much.  I LOVED reading Little Women.  I think it was the first book that ever made me cry.  (That’s really saying something because I didn’t often cry at books or movies before I had kids.  Since having babies, well that’s another story…)

There are really so many more movies than just what I have listed above, but these were some that I remember having enjoyed and would definitely recommend.

What books-turned-movies do you enjoy?

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

