Tags

, , ,

My personal preference for Halloween costumes are literature-inspired ones.  (Are you surprised?  I didn’t think so…)  Happily, Strawberry chose to be Little Red Riding Hood this year, a choice I definitely approved of.  (I would have let her be Elsa if she really wanted to be–because that seems to be the costume of choice this year, and no wonder.  But she definitely did not, and I was good with that.)  A couple years ago she went as Olivia the pig, a decision I made because she was still too young to have any preference at all.

Blueberry is going as a pumpkin this year.  I think being a pumpkin is such a classic choice.  I did it when I was little and Strawberry really wanted to do it last year so that was her year for it.  We also had a Winnie the Pooh costume available to us this year, which I dressed him in for the library Halloween costume story time a few days ago.  So, again, literature inspired.  (And Disney-inspired too, I guess…)

I’m hoping the kids will continue to choose literary characters as their Halloween outfits for years to come.

 

Well, we have come to the end of the 31 Days!  It was a challenge, but a fun one, and I’m so glad I did it.  Would I do it again?  Yeah, probably I will.  It was just hard enough to push me, but not so hard that it felt overwhelming.  I’m a little sad it’s over. However, I’m hoping it’s just the impetus I need to keep going with this blogging.  I find I am enjoying it!  Thanks for reading!

This post is part of a 31-day series on Enjoying Children’s Literature.  To read all the posts, click here.

