Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to participate in Kendra’s “virtual cocktail party” and this is my last chance this summer, so here I go…

1~ Favorite grocery store splurge?  We go through phases where we get hooked on some treat and keep going back to the store for it. Currently, I would say it’s fancy cheeses (especially aged cheddar and gouda) and prosciutto. We like to also add this spiced jam, paired with whatever cheese was recommended on top of the jar.  Add a baguette and some red wine…mmmmm!

Last summer, the phase we went through was Talenti gelato. That was really a splurge because the containers were so small for the price. But oh, so good! The sea salt caramel is to die for.

Yesterday I just tried Simply Limeade. I think I might switch to this being my splurge for the summer. Not that it costs so much, but I usually get the Minute Maid Lemonade (my favorite in summer!) This is something a little different and just as refreshing. I think I’m hooked.

2~ How’s my penmanship? It used to be great. Handwriting was always one of my favorite subjects in school. However, the older I get, the worse it gets. I’ve recently been trying to take my time and improve my writing; I used to like it. Not so much now. I did a little bit of calligraphy when I was a teen and am interested in starting up with that again. I pulled out my calligraphy pen from the craft box last month and did a little lettering. I’ll keep working on it for fun.

3~ Do you have a summer bucket list? Yes, but it’s not written down yet. It’s still in my head. Last year the kids and I made a list with markers on butcher paper and taped it up on the kitchen wall. We really liked it and it was so colorful. I’ve been meaning to do the same this year and we haven’t done it. Summer’s half over already, so I guess I’d better get on that if I’m going to do it at all. But lots of the things that would be on it we have already done: going to the splash pad, outdoor concerts, taking walks, seeing a movie at the drive in, going out for ice cream or frozen yogurt, visiting nearby parks and outdoor entertainment for the kids, putting out the water table and little kiddie pool in the yard. I guess we’re doing ok!

4~ What’s the best thing on the radio right now? When I turn on the radio, it’s almost always the classical music station. Every so often I turn to the current hits station. While I do like some songs, I couldn’t tell you the artist or probably even the title. If I especially like a certain song, I listen to the words and then either Google it to find out what it is or ask my husband or my sister. They are way more hip to that kind of stuff than I am.

On the classical station, I’m trying to listen to Bill McGlaughlin’s Exploring Music series. I don’t get to it every evening, but sometimes.

5~ Ice Cream or Frozen Yogurt? I won’t turn up my nose at either, but going to have to go with ice cream on this one. My absolute favorite flavor is chocolate peanut butter, followed closely by mint chocolate chip. Ice cream is one of my favorite desserts and eating ice cream is one of my favorite summer pastimes. In fact, I just finished a Haagen-Dazs vanilla milk chocolate almond ice cream bar.

6~ Congrats to Kendra on the birth of her new baby girl!

Well, that was fun! Now I hope I can figure out how to link up, because that’s something I’ve never done before!

